The Punishment She Deserves by Elizabeth George

The Punishment She Deserves

By Elizabeth George

  • Release Date: 2018-03-20
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
From 57 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA


Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Detective Inspector Thomas Lynley are forced to confront the past as they try to solve a crime that threatens to tear apart the very fabric of a quiet, historic medieval town in England

The cozy, bucolic town of Ludlow is stunned when one of its most revered and respected citizens--Ian Druitt, the local deacon--is accused of a serious crime. Then, while in police custody, Ian is found dead. Did he kill himself? Or was he murdered?

When Barbara Havers is sent to Ludlow to investigate the chain of events that led to Ian's death, all the evidence points to suicide. But Barbara can't shake the feeling that she's missing something. She decides to take a closer look at the seemingly ordinary inhabitants of Ludlow--mainly elderly retirees and college students--and discovers that almost everyone in town has something to hide.

A masterful work of suspense, The Punishment She Deserves sets Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers and Inspector Thomas Lynley against one of their most intricate cases. Fans of the longtime series will love the many characters from Elizabeth George's previous novels who join Lynley and Havers, and readers new to the series will quickly see why she is one of the most popular and critically acclaimed writers of our time. Both a page-turner and a deeply complex story about the lies we tell, the lies we believe, and the redemption we need, this novel will be remembered as one of George's best.


  • Excellent Elizabeth George!

    By Verbose Boss
    I’ve only just started reading her work, on recommendation of my daughter, and this is by far, her best. The flow is easy, the evidence is precise, and I felt as though I were coming to realizations along with Lynsey and Havers. Her characters are so well developed that you completely understand and admit that their faults as some of your own. She describes young people and their actions appropriately, and older people as they should and do, think and act, which is very seldom appropriate, even with maturity. Even though this is part of a series it stands well as a read-alone. If you’ve never read her books, this is a great one to start with!